Posted by: RegalTenant.com | June 1, 2009

Asher Roth Performs at Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles on Pico

roscoes

asherroscoe

     Pico Blvd. was poppin last night (5/30/09). MTV brought Asher Roth to perform at the legendary Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles. The idea behind this show was pretty unique. MTV put the gwop up and rented out the famous restaurant for a full day, even though the festivities didn’t start till 9pm. They turned the usually-crowded, parking lot that I’ve seen people get stomped out at, into a state of the art performance facility. Many onlookers approximated that the even cost roughly 30-40 stacks ($30,000 to $40,000) to put on.

    Expecting a hip hop type of crowd filled with backpackers and college students, I was amazed when I saw all the Hollywood A-listers hop out of stretch limousines. Normal people were not allowed, but if you are from LA, then you know this happens most nights. I attempted to walk across the street to get a better view and I was harassed by some wanna be secret service knock-off. But the view from “Regal Tenant” was good enough.

   I saw Asher do a pretty good job; for a crowd that is too old and too cool to wave their arms. I must admit, that I have not heard his album, nor did I care too, but his live show impressed me.

             Good Job Asher, next time, come across the street to Regal Tenant.

( http://www.hiphopwest.com )

Leave a Reply

Categories

